The Foundation Stage

The Foundation Stage covers children of Nursery & Reception age. The Curriculum is based on the principal that children learn best through fun and structured play activities.

Children learn very quickly at this stage in their life.  It is very important that they are provided with a rich, stimulating environment in which they feel secure.

At Wibsey we follow the guidelines of the Foundation Curriculum, which covers 7 areas of learning. These are:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development (PSE)
  • Communication and Language (CL)
  • Physical Development (PD)
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Knowledge and Understanding (K&U)
  • Expressive Arts and Design (EAD)

The play is well planned, carefully structured and builds on the children’s previous experiences.  The main way in which we achieve this is by observing the children’s play.  This enables us to find out what really interests them and what they can do now, so that we know what to do to extend their learning.

A strong emphasis is always put on the Literacy and Mathematical areas of learning.  There is a selected time each day when Literacy and Maths are taught.  During these periods, the children participate in whole class and small group activities.  Maths and Literacy activities are not just confined to the classroom and are taking place within the Unit.

Complimentary activities are also planned for the Outdoor Area, which reinforce and extend what has been taught in class.  It is very important that we do this, so that we are taking into account the way in which different children learn.

Nursery Curriculum 

Reception Curriculum